My Favourite Christmas Songs

IT’S FINALLY DECEMBER!!!!!

https://www.instagram.com/p/BNcyYMvjKy_/

 

Christmas is my absolute favourite time of the year, and Christmas music is one of those things that can lift me out of any bad mood. I think I’ve been driving my parents round the bend, though, since I’ve been singing ‘It’s Beginning to Look Like Christmas’ since September. However, it’s finally time to break out these Christmas jams without judgement. It was so difficult to pick which songs to include as I love basically ALL OF THEM, so I managed to narrow it down to the ones that make me smile and get excited the most! They’re also listed in no particular order, because that would’ve been way too much stress.

  • I’ll Be Home For Christmas – Michael Bublé

You can’t go wrong with a good Bublé song at Christmas, and this one is just so God damn lovely and sweet I couldn’t possibly leave it off this list. It’s not as ‘in your face’ as a lot of other Christmas songs are – not that that’s really a problem for me lol – so if you’re not a massive fan of Christmas music in general, give this one a go.

  • Driving Home for Christmas – Chris Rea

The reason that this is one of my favourites is basically that it was one at my cousins’ house when I was back in England for Christmas 2013, and it reminds me of my family and the fact that I was able to spend Christmas Day with them, which I don’t usually get to do. His voice is also amazing, and it’s a fabulous tune to have on in the car during December.

  • It’s Beginning to Look Like Christmas – Bing Cosby

This is the first song I put on when I woke up this morning and opened my first advent calendar chocolate. Bing Cosby’s voice is a dream and it’s the perfect song to get anyone in the mood for the Christmas season.

  • All I Want For Christmas Is You – Mariah Carey

Do I really need to explain this one?

  • I Wish It Could Be Christmas Everyday – Wizzard

I used to hear this song all the time when I was in primary school around December, as we’d have it playing throughout all of our Christmas parties. It’s just one of those really cheery songs that make me feel like an 8 year old at Christmas again, and that’s a really exciting feeling.

  • Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas – Frank Sinatra

I play this song every single Christmas Eve when I go to look at the lights with my family, and it honestly makes me so happy and kind of emotional. It was my first ever favourite Christmas song, and it will always have a very special place in my heart. Sinatra’s voice is just impeccable and it’s such a sweet song. I couldn’t have a Christmas playlist without it.

  • I Got Love For Xmas – Pixie Lott

This is a new favourite, but I love Pixie Lott so much already so this is pretty much the perfect combo for me. She’s so bloody talented and this song makes me feel all the things. 10/10 would recommend.

I hope this post gave you some ideas for your own Christmas playlist, or if you’re like me, made you revisit the one you’ve been playing since September. I’m so excited that it’s finally the holiday season so expect a few more Christmas inspired posts from me in the near future!

xo

Leave a comment